FDA Steps Up Warnings on Chantix

 

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) says it is “increasingly likely” that the stop-smoking drug Chantix can cause depression, suicidal thoughts and other psychiatric problems, the Associated Press reported Feb. 1st 2008.

Man shadow People who want to use the drug to stop smoking should inform their doctor if they have a history of mental-health problems, FDA said. “Chantix may cause worsening of current psychiatric illness even if it is currently under control. It may also cause an old psychiatric illness to reoccur,” the agency said.

Two weeks ago, Chantix maker Pfizer amended warnings on the drug to include information on the reported link between use of the stop-smoking drug and psychiatric problems. About four million prescriptions for Chantix have been written.  

And from Wikipedia;

Varenicline (trade name Chantix in the USA and Champix in Europe, Mexico, Canada and Australia, manufactured by Pfizer, usually in the form of varenicline tartrate) is a prescription medication used to treat smoking addiction.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chantix

See also;

Nicotine Anonymous

6 thoughts on “FDA Steps Up Warnings on Chantix

  1. Pingback: How benzodiazepines Made me Sick :Recovery Is Sexy.com

  2. I have been diagnosed as ACOA about 8 months ago and have been able to control myself and make headway into becoming healthier. About 2 weeks ago my wife and I started chantix for the second time and became exteremely irriatable and lashing out. I have now stopped as of two days ago and hope this clears up quickly!! The first time we tried chantix it was great, euphoric feelings and was able to stop smoking within a few days and went for three months until our daughter started having seizures which stressed us out and started smoking again.It seems that the drug is not the same and the side effects are worse than before! I would caution anyone before taking this to consult their physician and read everything you can on it!!

  3. Pingback: Drug Rehab and Treatment | Prescription Drug Overdose Becomes Big Killer | Drug Rehab and Treatment

  4. Pingback: Drugs from the Internet « Alcohol Self-Help News

  5. Pingback: Pilots Barred from Taking Chantix « Alcohol Self-Help News

  6. I’m an alcoholic and relapsed while in the 3rd week of taking Chantix. I had 5 1/2 months of sobriety and have worked all 12 steps of Alcoholics Anonymous. I only drank one night. I immediately stopped taking Chantix, and have been alcohol and drug free ever since.

    For me, Chantix caused a feeling of “screw this” toward my serenity. I also had feelings of constant anger.

    Jake: survey@flash.net

.