Detachment

Today’s thought is:

Today I will practice detachment by letting go of things I can’t control.

Detachment means standing back and looking at a situation without having a hand in it. Watching fireworks is practicing detachment. Flying a kite is not. Allowing friends the freedom to have their own opinions is practicing detachment. Feeling compelled to change their minds is not. Watching a child create her own drawing is practicing detachment. Holding her hand while she draws is not. I can’t control other people, their actions, or their beliefs by forcing them to act or believe as I do.

Detachment helps me see the big picture, since I can see things more clearly from a distance. Today, and from now on, I will practice taking care of myself by detaching from people or situations that aren’t good for me. Today I will pay close attention to when I am trying to force the issue, and I’ll remember that my time would be better spent leaving it alone.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

From; Time to Break Free by Judith R. Smith copyright 1999


Meditations for the First 100 Days after Leaving an Abusive Relationship

.

